Canadian Soldiers Assistance Team (CSAT) Forum

Departmental Review-Advice

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Start a "Teeth Condition" Claim

Post by Dove96 on Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:13

I had TMJ and bruxism claims (granted). Neither covered dental for teeth. I had to do an additional claim under "Teeth Conditions". Bruxism only covers the guard - period.
It took me over 2 years of fighting and a dedicated advocate to get my teeth covered. In the meantime I had 1 root canal, 2 cracked teeth and 1 pulled - not covered by my VA bruxism or TMJ claims (and well in excess of my Sunlife limits).
Once I it was granted I still had to do a claim for a single tooth - consequential to the other claims.

I know it is hard after going through so much but start a claim for "Teeth Conditions" consequential to Bruxism, PTSD and TMJ.
Get your dentist to do a full exam of all your teeth to note their condition.
It is better to do it prior to any further problems. (I found out bruxism tooth damage was not covered in the dentist office when they phoned VA and was refused. I had to sign payment of $1600 before they would fix the tooth.)
Note: A claim only covers damage incurred after acceptance.
Any questions or if you need more details just ask.
Here's a link when I first posted on the issue.
http://csat.top-talk.net/t1612-bruxism-and-or-tmj


Last edited by Dove96 on Wed 14 Sep 2016, 16:36; edited 3 times in total (Reason for editing : added details, corrected grammar, added a link)

Dove96
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 177
Location : Ridgeway, Ontario
Registration date : 2013-02-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by LawnBoy77777 on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 09:18

Good to hear u got it.

I share your concern about BPA. They wanted me to lie to get an award! WTF? I have had Tinnitus all my life but I asked for the exacerbation of it from service & BPA wanted me to say it was CAUSED by service.

LawnBoy77777
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 196
Location : St. John's
Registration date : 2015-05-02

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Dannypaj on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 04:02

BZ Newf!
It sucks having to fight tooth and nail for what your entitled to, doesn't it?
Best advice dealing with VAC:
You're your own best advocate, but don't be shy to ask your fellow Veterans about the nuts and bolts that are holding the department together.
If you do not know something, than ask! or you'll never know.
Not one veteran should be left behind..
Veterans are a breed of their own.
avatar
Dannypaj
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1127
Age : 40
Location : Halifax
Registration date : 2015-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by bigrex on Thu 25 Aug 2016, 23:17

I'm glad everything was successful. It does the soul good to hear positive stories from other Veterans.
avatar
bigrex
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 3116
Location : Halifax, Nova Scotia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Thu 25 Aug 2016, 20:52

Initial application was in January of 2015 so about 1 yr 7 months.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by pinger on Thu 25 Aug 2016, 20:11

Hats off to Newf ! cheers

How much total time did it take for your consequential TMJ?
avatar
pinger
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1240
Location : Facebook-less
Registration date : 2014-03-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Thu 25 Aug 2016, 18:08

Just got my VRAB decision letter a few days ago with a successfull appeal; a 5/5 rating for TMJ consequential to my PTSD:) Just wanted to say thanks to all of you for your assistance. The value of this website to all those who are serving and retired in dealing with Veterans Affairs cannot be understated. Most appreciated, Newf.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by pinger on Sun 20 Mar 2016, 16:37

Your right on the zeal part bigrex. Consider the time. At 50ish I ain't no 30 no more. Didn't want to ramble, but a young bpa albeit 30 years ago may well have had more pxxx and vinegar tenacity than when they are older? Same holds true for lawyers. politicians, etc...etc...
everybody.
Speaks volumes of some young whippersnappers who are sharp, have not yet become lazy and still have... integrity don't it?  
And old age ain't an excuse for their freaking complacencies of said job to us and the Canadian public. They have a responsibility. I'll just leave it at that.

Must hop along. Hope I made sense.
avatar
pinger
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1240
Location : Facebook-less
Registration date : 2014-03-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by bigrex on Sun 20 Mar 2016, 15:16

Pinger, after 25 years, I'm sure your BPA lawyer lost some of her zeal for her job. I would rather choose someone who had just taken the job, and is still eager to help Veterans, while trying to prove themselves as a lawyer, than someone who may be more experienced, but has realized that they get paid the same regardless of how much work they put in, or how hard they argue on your behalf.
avatar
bigrex
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 3116
Location : Halifax, Nova Scotia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by pinger on Sun 20 Mar 2016, 13:53

Tacking in, I hear you Supreme. But prudence tells me not to have any tunnel vision, rather to be at least aware of ALL options. Kinda like if your barking up the wrong tree, find a better tree lol.

Bearing in mind variables (understatement) here's food for thought. A bpa helped me enormously 30 years ago when I was 5/5 ent. She fought my dva denial and won. Now around 5 years ago, same bpa "helped" my buddy who's only 1/5 ent.
Worst ongoing she-devil of his nightmares. When I mentioned her name, his BP went zooomy.
He let me read everything. Mindboggling.

My point is... options. Be aware of them. I ain't touting bpa either. Legion S/O's, doing it all yourself/homework, hiring a lawyer, courts, appeals...
Outsmarting GoC 3 steps to begin with ahead don't hurt much either.

If you use every option and get the same result??? Then... you are VERY truly fracked. jmo

Stay well all.

avatar
pinger
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1240
Location : Facebook-less
Registration date : 2014-03-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Ex Member on Sat 19 Mar 2016, 21:56

Good job Rex. Doctors can say good positive evidence but we both know they do what they want.

Ex Member
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Ex Member on Sat 19 Mar 2016, 21:53

Newf wrote:That is a big help guys.   However, the Vrab advocate told me not to send them any articles because they have access to the same information.  I really don't think they the going to spend much time searching for me.  I will submit these articles and see what the reply will be. Thanks bigrex.

Bpa? Lmao useless, they get paid regardless if you win or lose bud. Waste of time and energy. Give up and don't waste your life fighting them the little that you can, go enjoy your life. Or try.

Ex Member
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by bigrex on Sat 19 Mar 2016, 20:33

I'm appreciative, but it's my honour to help other Veterans, especially when it comes to research.
avatar
bigrex
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 3116
Location : Halifax, Nova Scotia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Sat 19 Mar 2016, 17:19

Bigrex, my dentist used your medical references in his medical opinion letter. The letter is very supportive and now I await a decision. Just wanted to say thanks again for your support. This is such a great site for helping each other. Hats off to moderators/creators.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by 1993firebird on Sun 13 Mar 2016, 10:55

I have other conditions for which I can not be compensated financially because I am 110% already.

1993firebird
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1582
Location : Ontario
Registration date : 2013-01-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum