Canadian Soldiers Assistance Team (CSAT) Forum

Departmental Review-Advice

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by kathyS on Tue 08 May 2018, 20:23

reposting to another section
avatar
kathyS
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 10
Location : Calgary
Registration date : 2018-05-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Dove96 on Mon 07 May 2018, 19:14

I think that if you are considered totally disabled or over a certain percentage there is some coverage.
Is there anyone out there with that information?

Dove96
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 184
Location : Ridgeway, Ontario
Registration date : 2013-02-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by kathyS on Mon 07 May 2018, 15:36

Thanks for your input Dove... I appreciated it. I was so hoping for them to cover chipped cracked and damaged teeth. In your case do they do yearly dental exams etc
. I do not have the dental plan so its 100% me who pays if this doesn't cover anything.

If i get a percentage for pain  i can use that to repair my teeth.


Last edited by kathyS on Mon 07 May 2018, 19:44; edited 1 time in total
avatar
kathyS
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 10
Location : Calgary
Registration date : 2018-05-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Dove96 on Mon 07 May 2018, 12:00

For Bruxism just a mouth guard. For TMJ there is compensation for the chronic pain aspect. I was referring to the consequential dental repairs after the claim.
For example I received braces to realign my jaw. The constant clenching misaligned my jaw and was a factor in the TMJ.

Dove96
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 184
Location : Ridgeway, Ontario
Registration date : 2013-02-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by kathyS on Mon 07 May 2018, 08:48

avatar
kathyS
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 10
Location : Calgary
Registration date : 2018-05-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by kathyS on Mon 07 May 2018, 08:43

Dove96 wrote:KathyS

Short answer...no.

Long answer: Dental claims can be submitted like other disability claims or consequential to an other conditions.
TMJ and Bruxism are two conditions, attributed to PTSD or Chronic Pain that can cause extensive dental damage.
People with these conditions still put in claims when the dental work is required.
No consequential dental damage is covered if the damage was done prior to a claim being approved. (could try to appeal but...)
In the case of consequential claims like Bruxism, only a mouth guard is covered and a separate claim to cover tooth wear/damage after the claim was approved is needed or any related damage will not be covered.

wow i am surprised Dove, nothing for tmj and nothing for bruxism just a mouth guard ....no disability award not even 5%????
avatar
kathyS
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 10
Location : Calgary
Registration date : 2018-05-06

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Dove96 on Mon 07 May 2018, 04:21

KathyS

Short answer...no.

Long answer: Dental claims can be submitted like other disability claims or consequential to an other conditions.
TMJ and Bruxism are two conditions, attributed to PTSD or Chronic Pain that can cause extensive dental damage.
People with these conditions still put in claims when the dental work is required.
No consequential dental damage is covered if the damage was done prior to a claim being approved. (could try to appeal but...)
In the case of consequential claims like Bruxism, only a mouth guard is covered and a separate claim to cover tooth wear/damage after the claim was approved is needed or any related damage will not be covered.

Dove96
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 184
Location : Ridgeway, Ontario
Registration date : 2013-02-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by kathyS on Mon 07 May 2018, 00:25

Newf wrote:Just got my VRAB decision letter a few days ago with a successfull appeal; a 5/5 rating for TMJ consequential to my PTSD:)  Just wanted to say thanks to all of you for your assistance.  The value of this website to all those who are serving and retired in dealing with Veterans Affairs cannot be understated.  Most appreciated, Newf.

Just read this do they now pay for all the dental work ?
avatar
kathyS
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 10
Location : Calgary
Registration date : 2018-05-06

Back to top Go down

Start a "Teeth Condition" Claim

Post by Dove96 on Wed 14 Sep 2016, 13:13

I had TMJ and bruxism claims (granted). Neither covered dental for teeth. I had to do an additional claim under "Teeth Conditions". Bruxism only covers the guard - period.
It took me over 2 years of fighting and a dedicated advocate to get my teeth covered. In the meantime I had 1 root canal, 2 cracked teeth and 1 pulled - not covered by my VA bruxism or TMJ claims (and well in excess of my Sunlife limits).
Once I it was granted I still had to do a claim for a single tooth - consequential to the other claims.

I know it is hard after going through so much but start a claim for "Teeth Conditions" consequential to Bruxism, PTSD and TMJ.
Get your dentist to do a full exam of all your teeth to note their condition.
It is better to do it prior to any further problems. (I found out bruxism tooth damage was not covered in the dentist office when they phoned VA and was refused. I had to sign payment of $1600 before they would fix the tooth.)
Note: A claim only covers damage incurred after acceptance.
Any questions or if you need more details just ask.
Here's a link when I first posted on the issue.
http://csat.top-talk.net/t1612-bruxism-and-or-tmj


Last edited by Dove96 on Wed 14 Sep 2016, 20:36; edited 3 times in total (Reason for editing : added details, corrected grammar, added a link)

Dove96
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 184
Location : Ridgeway, Ontario
Registration date : 2013-02-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by LawnBoy77777 on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 13:18

Good to hear u got it.

I share your concern about BPA. They wanted me to lie to get an award! WTF? I have had Tinnitus all my life but I asked for the exacerbation of it from service & BPA wanted me to say it was CAUSED by service.

LawnBoy77777
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 196
Location : St. John's
Registration date : 2015-05-02

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Dannypaj on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 08:02

BZ Newf!
It sucks having to fight tooth and nail for what your entitled to, doesn't it?
Best advice dealing with VAC:
You're your own best advocate, but don't be shy to ask your fellow Veterans about the nuts and bolts that are holding the department together.
If you do not know something, than ask! or you'll never know.
Not one veteran should be left behind..
Veterans are a breed of their own.
avatar
Dannypaj
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1152
Age : 41
Location : Halifax
Registration date : 2015-01-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by bigrex on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 03:17

I'm glad everything was successful. It does the soul good to hear positive stories from other Veterans.
avatar
bigrex
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 3294
Location : Halifax, Nova Scotia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 00:52

Initial application was in January of 2015 so about 1 yr 7 months.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 127
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by pinger on Fri 26 Aug 2016, 00:11

Hats off to Newf ! cheers

How much total time did it take for your consequential TMJ?
avatar
pinger
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1243
Location : Facebook-less
Registration date : 2014-03-04

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Thu 25 Aug 2016, 22:08

Just got my VRAB decision letter a few days ago with a successfull appeal; a 5/5 rating for TMJ consequential to my PTSD:) Just wanted to say thanks to all of you for your assistance. The value of this website to all those who are serving and retired in dealing with Veterans Affairs cannot be understated. Most appreciated, Newf.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 127
Location : Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum