Canadian Soldiers Assistance Team (CSAT) Forum

Departmental Review-Advice

Page 2 of 2 Previous  1, 2

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Sun 06 Mar 2016, 06:33

Absolutely, bigrex. VAC officials spend more time looking at reports and publications that will go against an applicants claim to try to deny it then actually trying to help him or her. Perhaps, if it was the other way around the service would improve ten fold. Thanks again for that info. Much appreciated.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by bigrex on Sat 05 Mar 2016, 19:03

Well, if Veterans affairs had access to all the same publications and reports, and adhered to the benefit of doubt, you should not have been denied in the first place. Considering that one of the links I provided, was for the OSI clinic in BC, which was using a report that stated that 58% of PTSD patients in the study complained of TMJ pain, versus just 3.26% of those without PTSD. To me that is pretty significant findings in support of your claims.
avatar
bigrex
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 3116
Location : Halifax, Nova Scotia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Sat 05 Mar 2016, 11:33

Thanks Trooper. I will take your advice
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Guest on Sat 05 Mar 2016, 05:58

Newf ,

you have every right to be paranoid , don't be afraid to let your Pension Advocate know of your concerns.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with speaking your mind when it comes to your BPA.

Sometimes it's best to be up front with them before your appeal is brought forward , making sure they understand that you yourself know that their suppose to fight for you with everything they got...if that means you providing them with certain info , they should at least have a look at what it is you have.

I do believe it's in your best interest , to ensure your BPA is doing everything possible for you , in representing you.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Sat 05 Mar 2016, 05:19

That is a big help guys.   However, the Vrab advocate told me not to send them any articles because they have access to the same information.  I really don't think they the going to spend much time searching for me.  I will submit these articles and see what the reply will be. Thanks bigrex.
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Sapper Zodiak on Fri 04 Mar 2016, 23:51

Good work Bigrex. I am off to the dentist on monday for three repairs to my teeth from bruxism. I was diagnosed with this through BC-OSI Dr. Oxana Frizen , as part of my GAD/PTSD diagnosis, who saw me in Comox. I have not applied for this through VAC as I just blanked on it. Of course I have no dental insurance to cover the costs of the work needed either, but I cannot let another year or so of my life slip by waiting for the lumbering giant that is VAC to help with coverage.
Slightly Shattered Smilin Sap

Sapper Zodiak
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 963
Age : 49
Location : warm side of the rockies...
Registration date : 2012-11-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by bigrex on Fri 04 Mar 2016, 20:46

avatar
bigrex
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 3116
Location : Halifax, Nova Scotia
Registration date : 2008-09-18

Back to top Go down

Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Newf on Fri 04 Mar 2016, 19:55

I made disability application to VAC for the condition of temporomandibular joint disorder consequential to PTSD and bruxism. I have nightmares, teeth grinding, jaw clenching and awaken many nights each week. I use night guard every night and have gone through the three so far this year. I got denied in my application. However, I am in the process of having a departmental review. My advocate is seeking medical opinion from my dentist and I will be dropping off this letter next week. However, I am not overly confident of the Vrab advocate. I am very suspicious that all these vac employees are pulling on the same oars to make sure I get denied again. Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this, advice or am I just being parAnoid?
avatar
Newf
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 96
Location : Nova Scotia, Canada
Registration date : 2014-09-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Departmental Review-Advice

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 2 of 2 Previous  1, 2

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum