Request for Ministerial Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Request for Ministerial Review

Post by Rubicon on Sat 18 Mar 2017, 15:45

The Honourable Kent Hehr
Veterans Affairs Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P4

Minister, my name is XXXX XXXXXX and I am a 35 yr veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces. I have had both positive and negative experiences with Veterans Affairs Canada disability applications in the past. Today I received a My VAC Account secure e-mail advising me that two of my applications have been suspended. In fact I have had 3 applications in total suspended in the last month. One of these applications has been in the system for over a year and I am just now finding out that follow-up paperwork is missing. In all three cases this could have been prevented had I been engaged and allowed to make an office visit with my physician and neurologist with paperwork in hand but instead I was kept out of the loop and paperwork is now missing after a year when we should be at the decision level. It is this type of behaviour that I described to MP Neil Harris at his Veterans Affairs Town Hall meeting in Belleville last August when he was on a VAC fact finding mission on behalf of your office.